Tuesday, June 18, 2013

The U & U Show 323! Okkervil River Returns

Okkervil River : It Was My Season : The Silver Gymnasium (2013)
-          7th album, first not on JagJaguwar. Jumped to ATO Records.
-          Led by Will Sheff
-          The Stage Names, was one of best albums to come out in the time I've been obsessing over music on this show.

Wyatt Blair : Money, Honey… : BANANA CREAM DREAM (2013)
-          Debut album.
-          Loose fun upbeat garage rock along the lines of King Tuff.
-          Another undeniably solid release from Burger Records.
-          This song samples the guitar riff from a classic big beat rock song, that I can't place.

Jonathan Rado : Faces : Law And Order (2013)
-          Solo debut.
-          Lead guitarist of Foxygen.
-          Looser vintage folk rock sound. Less psych here than with Foxygen.

Cool Ghouls : Grace : Cool Ghouls (2013)
-          Debut album.
-          Vintage, beachy garage rock.
-          Surprise! Another great effort out on Burger Records.

The National : I Should Live In Salt : Trouble Will Find Me (2013)
-          6th album
-          One of two lead singles out now.
-          Has the vibe of their last full length album, 2010's High Violet.

Califone : Stitches : Stitches (2013)
-          11th full length as far as I can tell.
-          Led by Tim Rutili, formerly of Red Red Meat.

These New Puritans : Fragment Two : Field of Reeds (2013)
-          3rd full length
-          Mellow, dark, layered indie rock.

King Khan and The Shrines : Born To Die : Idle No More (2013)
-          Forthcoming 5th album, out in Sept.
-          First Shrines album since 2008
-          Long time collaborator with Marc Sultan (AKA the BBQ Show)
-          One of my all-time favorite artists. The Supreme Genius of King Khan and His Shrines is one of the greatest albums.

Hunx & His Punx : Bad Skin : Street Punk (2013)
-          4th album.
-          Debut album out in 2011.
-          Vintage garage and surf rockers

Black Joe Lewis : Skulldiggin’ : Electric Slave (2013)
-          3rd full length.
-          Download this track for free on their Official Site.

T. Hardy Morris : OK Corral : Audition Tapes (2013)
-          Solo Debut album
-          Leader of Dead Confederate and a member of the super group Diamond Rugs with the Black Lips’ Ian St. Pe and John McCauley of Deer Tick.

JJUUJJUU : G 4 A G : FRST EP (2013)
-          Debut EP
-          Slightly alt, lumbering garage psych rock.

Sigur Ros : Kveikur : Kveikur (2013)
-          7th full length. Also an excellent documentary and a live album.
-          Unique, powerful, orchestral Icelandic band.
-          Lyrics are usually big for me to get into a band, but here, the fact I can’t understand them gives their music a mystique.

The Post Nobles : Voices In the Night : The Post Nobles EP (2013)
-          Debut EP
-          Who doesn't love fun, catchy, Beach Boys styled music???
-          Name your price for this EP on their BandCamp.

KRILL : Never A Joke : Lucky Leaves (2013)
-          2nd full length
-          Debut album, Alam No Hris, was out in 2011
-          Led by Ezra Furman's brother Jonah.

Overseas : Old Love : Overseas (2013)
-          Debut album
-          New band led by Pedro the Lion's David Bazan and Centro-matic's Will Johnson
-          Heavy alt-country rock in the same realm as Jason Molina's heavier tracks.

Wise Blood : Rat : id (2013)
-          Debut full length.
-          Debut EP, These Wings, was out in 2011.
-          Impressive blend of r&b/rap/singing vocals, drums, and samples.

No comments: