Wednesday, June 26, 2013

The U & U Show 324! The Year That Keeps Giving

Wise Blood : Target : id (2013)
-          Debut full length.
-          Debut EP, These Wings, was out in 2011.
-          Impressive blend of r&b/rap/singing vocals, drums, and samples.

Only Real : Blood Carpet : Only Real EP II (2013)
-          One of only several songs they've releaed.
-          Vocalist over a blend of classic indie rock and electronic music.

Kurt Vile : KV Crimes : Wakin On A Pretty Daze (2013)
-          5th album.
-          Former guitarist for the War On Drugs.
-          The opening track on this album, 'Wakin on a Pretty Day,' might be the year's best so far.
-          He said he was inspired by the album Tusk when making this album.

Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros : This Life : Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros (2013)
-          3rd full length.
-          Also did one solo album under the moniker Alexander.

Deer Tick : The Rock : Negativity (2013)
-          5th album
-          ‘Divine Providence’ was their latest and 4th album. Plus 2012's Tim EP
-          The leader of Deer Tick, John McCauley, has been working on the Middle Brother and Diamond Rugs collaborative projects recently and making some brilliant music there.

Dawes : That Western Skyline : North Hills (2009)
-          Debut album of 3.
-          Led by Taylor Goldsmith, who is also 1/3 of the folk supergroup Middle Brother.

KRILL : Sick Dogs (For Ian) : Lucky Leaves (2013)
-          2nd full length
-          Debut album, Alam No Hris, was out in 2011
-          Led by Ezra Furman's brother Jonah.

Lightning Dust : Never Again : Fantasy (2013)
-          3rd album
-          This is the best song they've recorded.
-          Jagjaguwar Label.
-          Haunting synthy folk.

John Grant : GMF (Greatest Living Creature) : Pale Green Ghosts (2013)
-          2nd solo album.
-          Former leader of the band the Czars.
-          Also toured in support of his solo debut with the band Midlake.
-          Love the cover of this album.

Portugal. The Man : Someday Believers : Evil Friends (2013)
-          8th album.
-          First album produced by Danger Mouse and it unfortunately shows on a lot of tracks.
-          This is a very Fleetwood Mac-y highlight.
-          2007's Church Mouth is still their best album.
-          RIYL The Raconteurs/Jack White/Brendan Benson

Pond : Xanman : Hobo Rocket (2013)
-          5th full length album. First of 2 announced 2013 albums.
-          Features members of Tame Impala.
-          By far the greatest lead singer I saw at SXSW. Young, tiny, wild aussie.

Fuzz : You Won't See Me : Sleigh Ride 7” (2013)
-          2nd 2 song single.
-          Latest project from the ever-prolific Ty Segall
-          Heavier psych blues sound here than his usual style.

Mozes and the Firstborn : Seasons : Mozes and the Firstborn (2013)
-          Debut full length.
-          Psych rock from Holland.

Fucked Up : Queen of Hearts : David Comes To Life (2011)
-          Hugely critically acclaimed 3rd album.
-          Musically like Titus Andronicus or The Hold Steady with a metal band frontman.

Sigur Ros : Rafstraumur : Kveikur (2013)
-          7th full length. Also an excellent documentary and a live album.
-          Unique, powerful, orchestral Icelandic band.
-          Lyrics are usually big for me to get into a band, but here, the fact I can’t understand them gives their music a mystique.

Cool Ghouls : Natural Life : Cool Ghouls (2013)
-          Debut album.
-          Vintage, beachy/southern garage rock.
-          Surprise! Another great effort out on Burger Records.

Shannon And The Clams : Done With You : Sleep Talk (2011)
-          Debut album of 2.
-          Great fuzzy, doo-wop, 3 piece garage band.
-          Very effectively warmed the waters for Mikal Cronin.

Warm Soda : Lola : Someone For You (2013)
-          2nd full length
-          Project started by Matthew Melton formerly of Bare Wires
-          Very similar vibe to Bare Wires
-          Slogan on BandCamp: 'JUST SAY NO to SXSW 2013' referencing Bare Wires' break up.

No comments: