Wednesday, June 12, 2013

The U & U Show 322! Best Lyrics of the Year?

The National : Pink Rabbits : Trouble Will Find Me (2013)
-          6th album
-          One of two lead singles out now.
-          Has the vibe of their last full length album, 2010's High Violet.

Majical Cloudz : I Do Sing For You : Impersonator (2013)
-          Debut full length.
-          Debut EP was 2012’s Turns Turns Turns.
-          Intense and completely engrossing band I caught as an opener for Youth Lagoon.

KRILL : Dumbass In A Pair Of Shorts : Alam No Hris (2012)
-          Debut album.
-          Led by Ezra Furman's brother Jonah.

Overseas : Down Below : Overseas (2013)
-          Debut album
-          New band led by Pedro the Lion's David Bazan and Centro-matic's Will Johnson
-          Heavy alt-country rock in the same realm as Jason Molina's heavier tracks.

NO : What's Your Name : Don't Worry, You'll Be Here Forever (2012)
-          Debut EP… as far as I can tell
-          Download it for free from their Official Site.

Alex Bleeker and the Freaks : Don't Look Down : How Far Away (2013)
-          2nd full length.
-          S/t debut was out in 2009
-          On Underwater Peoples who have been one of the most consistent labels in the past couple years if you are looking for quality rock music.
-          Bassist for the emerging lo-fi rock act Real Estate

Steve Gunn : Water Wheel : Time Off (2013)
-          New album just off his superb Record Store Day collaborative album with Hiss Golden Messenger entitled Golden Gunn.
-          First album with a full band.
-          Experimental, jammy, classical acoustic guitarist.

The Dirty Banks : Tyger : The Dirty Banks EP (2013)
-          Debut EP.
-          Bouncy, catchy, psych pop.

The Blank Tapes : Pearl : Vacation (2013)
-          8th full length
-          Tons of free music for you on their BandCamp.

Portugal, The Man : Sea Of Air : Evil Friends (2013)
-          8th album.
-          First album produced by Danger Mouse and it unfortunately shows on a lot of tracks.
-          This is a very Fleetwood Mac-y highlight.
-          2007's Church Mouth is still their best album.
-          RIYL The Raconteurs/Jack White/Brendan Benson

Brazos : Saltwater : Saltwater (2013)
-          3rd full length. First since 2009's Phosphorescent Blues.
-          Broke out with this at the 2008 SXSW

Divine Fits : Chained To Love : Chained to Love b/w Ain't That the Way (2013)
-          Latest single.
-          Debut collaborative album from Spoon's Britt Daniel and Wolf Parade/Handsome Furs' Dan Boeckner was out in 2012 and entitled, A Thing Called the Divine Fits.
-          One of the highlights of SXSW 2013.

Heart-Ships : Air Balloon : EP1 (2013)        
-          Debut EP
-          Reminiscent of Modest Mouse and Frog Eyes.

The Builders and the Butchers : Dirt In the Ground : Western Medicine (2013)
-          5th album
-          Tense energy can be felt through out their music.
-          Great live band!

The Post Nobles : Summer Toons : The Post Nobles EP (2013)
-          Debut EP
-          Who doesn't love fun, catchy, Beach Boys styled music???
-          Name your price for this EP on their BandCamp.

Wyatt Blair : Ba Ba Ba (Life's a Bitch) : BANANA CREAM DREAM (2013)
-          Debut album.
-          Loose fun upbeat garage rock along the lines of King Tuff.
-          Another undeniably solid release from Burger Records.

King Khan and The Shrines : It’s A Lie : Idle No More (2013)
-          Forthcoming 5th album, out in Sept.
-          First Shrines album since 2008
-          Long time collaborator with Marc Sultan (AKA the BBQ Show)
-          One of my all-time favorite artists. The Supreme Genius of King Khan and His Shrines is one of the greatest albums.

No comments: