Saturday, May 7, 2011

The Unknown & Unheard Show 228!

Fleet Foxes - Battery Kinzie - Helplessness Blues (2011)
-          Long awaited 2nd full length.
-          No band was better in 2008 in which they released their debut EP & LP.
-          My number one album for the 2008 (same with Pitchfork and numerous other outlets).
-          Hugely diverse, lush, harmony-laden folk.

Priestbird – Diamonds – Beachcombers (2011)
-          2nd album.
-          Heavy bluesy psych rock.
-          Group features Devendra Banhart and Greg Rogove. (They work together in Megapuss as well)

My Morning Jacket – Holdin' On To Black Metal – Circuital (2011)
-          Forthcoming 6th album
-          Probably the most notable Louisville band going.
-          Led by and known for Jim James on lead vocals.

Jorma and Movie Bare - Sick - Lollipop Gold (2011)
-          Project from Jorma Whitaker (Frontman for Marmoset).
-          Released on Secretly Canadian/JagJaguwar off shoot, St. Ives Records.

The Antlers – Putting the Dog To Sleep - Burst Apart (2011)
-          4th album
-          Big pop sound… remind me of The Arcade Fire’s acoustic tracks
-          If you like this at all, just go get their 3rd album 'Hospice' it's still the best to date.


The Thousands - On and On - The Sound of Everything (2011)
-          Remind me a bit of the Antlers.

Elbow – Lippy Kids - Build a Rocket Boys! (2011)
-          Forthcoming full length.
-          Huge UK band… popular all over the world.
-          previous album was Seldom Seen Kid

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. – Simple Girl - Horse Power (2010)
-          Debut EP. Debut full length is forthcoming.
-          This EP garnered them a lot of good reviews.

Dark Mean – Happy Banjo - Dark Mean (2011)
-          This full length debut has been in the works since 2007!
-          Debut EP out in 2009. Download it from their official site now!
-          Sounds a bit like Frightened Rabbit here.

Gypsyblood - Dirty Thieves - Cold In The Guestway (2011)
-          Dark chant-like track

Withered Hand - Cornflake - Good News (2011)
-          Debut full length, but has two previously released EPs
-          Neil Young-heavy sound.
-          Played SXSW

Airlines - Neon Moon - Visions EP (2011)
-          Debut EP.
-          Yet another new act seemingly following in the sound footpath pioneered by Yeasayer.
-          Lush, layered synth pop.
-          RIYL: Yeasayer, Bravestation and Geographer.

Snowmine - Beast In Air, Beast In Water - Beast In Air, Beast In Water(Single) (2011)
-          Single free for download on their BandCamp.

Thao and Mirah - Love Is a Battlefield (Pat Benetar cover) (2011)
-          Debut collaboration between Thao Nguyen and Mirah
-          if you are unfamiliar with Thao you need to correct that quickly. Look up Thao Nguyen & the Get Down Stay Downs
-          Her last album, We Brave Bee Stings And All, was highlighted by the track 'Bag of Hammers."
-          Thao played SXSW

Matt Pond PA - Love To Get Used - Spring Fools EP (2011)
-          Latest EP from the very prolific chamber pop/rock outfit.

Dead Snares - City Sparks - Speak the Language (2010)
-          Debut album.
-          Remind me a bit of the upbeat chamber pop sound of Matt Pond PA

No comments: