Friday, September 5, 2014

U & U Show 372 | Yeasayer + Suckers = Seltzer Boys

Benjamin Booker : Happy Homes : Benjamin Booker (2014)
-       Forthcoming debut LP
-       Sounds like it’s even just demo quality, but the potential for something good is definitely there.
-       Best of SXSW 2014

Lee Moses : Bad Girl (Blood Ties) : Time And Place (1971)
-       Only full length album
-       Originally released as a single in 1967.
-       Great deep blues and soul.

Nicholas Allbrook : Whispers of Beauty : Ganough, Wallis & Fatuna (2014)
-          Debut solo album
-          Former touring bassist for Tame Impala
-          Leader of POND and in Allbrook/Avery, which is another Tame Impala/POND spin off band
-          This collective of Perth musicians is making some of the greatest psych rock currently.

Girl Band : I Love You (Beat Happening cover) : De Bom Bom b/w I Love You 7" (2014)
-          Debut EP, France 98,is available for free on their BandCamp.
-          Their single, Lawman, is their best song to date.
-          Eractic punk rockers out of Ireland.
-          One of the more exciting and exhilarating punk rock bands I’ve heard in a long time.

Ty Segall : Feel : Manipulator (2014)
-       7th solo album. Double album.
-       The once obscure SF garage rock master is now one of the biggest faces of the rock music scene now.
-       Mix of the sounds he put forth on 3 different albums in 2013.

Seltzer Boys : Joke Was On Me (2014)
-          One of 3 demos out so far.
-          Band featuring members of Suckers, Yeasayer and Delicate Steve.
-          Just played their 2nd live show ever.


Operators : Cruel : EP1 (2014)
-          Self-released debut EP from Dan Boeckner’s (Wolf Parade, Handsome Furs & Divine Fits) latest project.
-          I just attended their ‘5th or 6th’ concert and it came off like a big blend of LCD Soundsystem and Handsome Furs.

Kissaway Trail : Nørrebro : Breach (2014)
-       3rd full length. Plus 2 EPs.
-       The make big pop anthems.
-       Smother + Evil = Hurt is their best song to date.
-       Denmark Band

The New Pornographers : Another Drug Deal of the Heart : Brill Bruisers (2014)
-          First single from the AC Newman led Canadian super-ish group.
-          Also features Destroyer’s Dan Bejar & Neko Case.
-          Bursting from the start bright pop rock anthem.

J Mascis : And Then : Tied to a Star (2014)
-          First single from forthcoming solo album
-          Latest solo album was 2011's brilliant Several Shades of Why.
-          Dinosaur Jr. leader, but I think I like him better in this role.

Twerps : California Clay : Underlay EP (2014)
-          Latest EP, 2nd one since their superb 2011 debut LP
-          Australian spacey indie pop.
-          Their newer songs have featured more singers, but this one remains the best.

Allison Crutchfield : SUPERMOON : Lean In to It EP
-          Bedroom electronic pop solo effort.
-          Also the leader of pop punk band, Swearin’.
-          Twin sister of Waxahatchee’s Katie Crutchfield.

Cold Specks : Let Loose The Dogs : Neuroplasticity (2014)
-          Powerful, fuller track from one of the best vocalists in all of music.
-          An awesome video for the track 'Holland' can be found HERE.

Courtship Ritual : Champagne Cages : Pith (2014)
-          Debut album
-          Electronic indie-pop.
-          RIYL Wet or the XX.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs : Poor Song : Fever To Tell (2003)
-          Secret track on their debut LP. Also features the track ‘Maps’.
-          Haunting and restrained, only swelling a little towards the end.
-          RIYL Scout Niblett.

TV On The Radio : Mr. Grieves (Pixies cover) : Young Liars EP (2003)
-          Hidden bonus track on their debut EP
-          It’s hard to tell it’s even a Pixies cover.
-          Highlights the groundbreaking, genre-creating sound they brought from the begin.

No comments: