Sunday, May 22, 2011

The Unknown & Unheard Show 230! (mp3)

Bon Iver – Calgary - Bon Iver (2011)
-          Forthcoming 2nd full legnth. Follow up to one of the best 2008 albums
-          tides you over a bit as we await a new full length
-          powerful live performer.
-          Playing the Murat Theatre Monday July 25th

Donkeys - Don't Know Who We Are - Born With Stripes (2011)
-          3rd full length.
-          Super catchy rolling track.
-          Makes me think of These United States.
-          Download a bunch of this music for free from their site!


Bill Callahan - America! - Apocalypse (2011)
-          3rd album
-          Folk singer/songwriter type
-          The voice gets me here more than anything
-          Former leader of Smog.
-          This album is fantastic!

White Denim - Anvil Everything - D (2011)
-          Forthcoming album that is supposed to be heavier rock than their normal schizophrenic psych/folk offerings
-          They did an Impromptu album of demos last summer: Download for free right now!
-          Played SXSW
-          Playing the Rock Lobster in Indy Wednesday, June 29th.

The Mountain Goats – Dance Music - The Sunset Tree (2005)
-          9th album
-          How have I not played this track before??? One of my all time favorite songs.
-          An explanation of the glory of music.
-          Their last, 'All Eternals Deck' , was out in early 2011 and one of the best of the year.
-          Led by John Darnielle and his unmistakable passionate and powerful vocals.

Iron and Wine - Naked As We Came - Our Endless Numbered Days (2004)
-          2nd album
-          Latest is Kiss Each Other Clean on which he continued to fill out his sound and backing back more and more.
-          Formerly known for spare folk arrangements and hushed vocals.
-          one of the coolest artists to see live.
-          Playing the Vogue Friday, June 10th.

Horse Feathers – Curs In the Weeds – House With No Home (2008)
-          2nd album
-          Stripped back sound featuring all strings
-          Painfully sad at times
-          unmatched in it’s raw emotion… like the earliest Iron & Wine albums
-          One of the greatest live shows I've seen.
-          Playing Radio Radio Sunday, June 12th

Okkervil River – Hanging From a Hit – I Am Very Far (2011)
-          Brand new LP.
-          This is a former best of the U & U top spot holder thanks to their album ‘The Stage Names’
-          Lyric-heavy deeply layered building folk rock.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. – Vocal Chords - It's A Corporate World (2011)
-          Forthcoming debut full length.
-          Their 2010 debut EP garnered them a lot of good reviews.
-          Playing the White Rabbit Cabaret Friday, June 17th

Dark Mean – Acoustic - Music Box EP (2009)
-          Debut EP. Download it from their official site now!
-          This full length debut has been in the works since 2007 and will be out this year.
-          Download this from their official site now!

The Heavenly States - Berlin Wall - Oui Camera Oui (2011)
-          4th album since 2003
-          Love the off-kilter Modest Mouse vibes this band puts out.


Wolf People - Silbury Sands - Steeple (2010)
-          Debut release here in the states.
-          Trippy feel of 70's hard blues rock
-          The record player crackle though out is a perfect fit.
-          All-time favorite band to Google
-          Jagjaguwar outfit..

Wet Hair - Radiant Lines - Radiant Lines (Single) (2011)
-          Big 70's psych rock!
-          Retro organ-goodness

Night Beats - Ain't Dumbo - Night Beats (2011)
-          Garage and soul coming together nicely.
-          Bigger fuzz and fidelity than their previous efforts.

The War on Drugs – Buenos Aires Beach – Wagonwheel Blues (2008)
-          debut album… insanely good and equally well received
-          2nd full length was just announced.
-          Kurt Vile's former band.

Modest Mouse - That'll Be the Day (Buddy Holly cover) - Rave On Buddy Holly (2011)
-          Contribution to a loaded album of Buddy Holly covers.

EMA - Milkman - Past Life Martyred Saints (2011)
            - Debut full length.
            - This is the current from nowhere-to-everywhere band in the indie music world.
            - Erika M. Anderson

No comments: