Tuesday, June 19, 2012

The U & U Show 286!

JEFF the Brotherhood : Mystic Portal II : Hypnotic Knights (2012)
-          Water warming EP fir their forthcoming full length Hypnotic Nights.
-          Jake & Jamin Orrall
-          Kraut punk rock. Harder, eclectic rock.
-          This album has a significantly increased pop feel to it… Early Weezer specifically at times.
-          Played SXSW and they lead singer & guitarist came out into the crowd, right in front of me and played a solo from his knees for me!
-          Formerly of the band Be Your Own Pet.
-          Playing Radio Radio in Indy June 25th.

Yeasayer : 2080 : All Hour Cymbals (2007)
-          Highlight track from their highly acclaimed debut album.
-          Fragrant World is their forthcoming 3rd album.
-          Their 2nd album, Odd Blood, came out in 2010.
-          Best Band of Pitchfork Music Fest 2009 By Far!
-          Immensely layered quintet
-          Playing Cincinnati June 24th!

The Tallest Man On Earth : Criminals : There's No Leaving Now (2012)
-          3rd album.
-          Swedish singer/songwriter Kristian Matsson
-          Powerful voice.
-          2008 self-titled debut was very well received.

Sun Kil Moon : I know It's Pathetic But That Was The Greatest Night Of My Life : Among the Leaves (2012)
-          5th full length
-          Mark Kozelek's main band.
-          First album was comprised of all AC/DC reworkings. 2nd was all Modest Mouse. Both are great.

David Dondero : # Zero with a Bullet : # Zero with a Bullet (2010)
-          7th studio album.
-          Reminds me a bit of Neil Young and Mike Doughty!
-          This track is a bit more acoustic than the album’s title track.

Langhorne Slim & the Law : Two Crooked Hearts : The Way We Move (2012)
-          First album with backing band The Law.
-          Great first single that you can get for free on his site.
-          Passionate and exciting live performer.
-          Playing Radio Radio Saturday, July 21st

Shovels & Rope : Hollowpoint Blues : Shovels & Rope (2008)
-          Debut album.
-          I had heard some others songs from this outfit, but this is the first song to really grab me.
-          Folk rock band comprised of solo artists Cary Ann Heart and Michael Trent.

Guided By Voices : Keep It In Line : Class Clown Spots a UFO (2012)
-          2nd GBV album of 2012.
-          First album with the recently reunited 'classic lineup' since 1996 was out early this year.
-          I have been kicking myself for a week now that I've realized I've missed a rare chance to see this band live!
-          The prolific Robert Pollard's primary outfit.

Gospel Claws : Stars In My Heart : C-L-a-W-S (2010)
-          Debut full length.
-          Pulses between soulful 50's pop and powerful, amped up beach rock.
-          Vocals somewhat reminiscent of the Heartless Bastards.

Blonds : 206 : The Bad Ones (2011)
-          Debut EP
-          Debut full length is on its way.
-          Moody, pulsing rock with powerful, steady, Nico-like vocals.
-          2 incredible videos out. One is for this song, one is for their new single, Run.

The Spyrals : Long Road Out : The Spyrals (2012)
-          Debut full length.
-          Garage blues rock that will help fill in the space between Black Angels albums.

The Young : Livin' Free : Dub Egg (2012)
-          2nd album
-          Classic heavy, fat 70's psych rock riffs.

Ty Segall : Swag : Ty Segall/Black Time Split LP  (2012)
-          This is back to Segall’s big time fuzz.
-          First album under the moniker Ty Segall Band, Slaughterhouse, is out next week. Features usually collaborator, Mikal Cronin.
-          San Fran 60’s psych/garage rock leader.
-          Just released a new collaborative album with the band White Fence called Hair.

Wet Hair : Jane You Don't Decide : Spill Into Atmosphere (2012)
-          2nd album.
-          Previously big 70's psych/80’s kraut rock, but here has a bit more 80’s pop than ever before.
-          This one opens up into a big 'Strangle Hold' type jam.
-          SXSW 2012

Richard Swift : The Bully : Ground Trouble Jaw EP (2009)
-          I love the loose creativity of this song so much.
-          Latest release was 2010's Walt Wolfman EP. 4 full lengths out.
-          Has been doing a lot more production for other bands lately.
-          Hops from genre to genre
-          Like my favorite music from Swift, this track has some serious vintage, soul, motown sounds.

No comments: