Tuesday, June 12, 2012

The U & U Show 285!

Langhorne Slim & the Law : Fire : The Way We Move (2012)
-          First album with backing band The Law.
-          Great first single that you can get for free on his site.
-          Passionate and exciting live performer.
-          Playing Radio Radio Saturday, July 21st

Japandroids : Fire's Highway : Celebration Rock (2012)
-       2nd album.
-       raucous anthem-filled post punk rock.
-       This song was released as a single in 2010, before this album was even an idea.
-       huge energy and distortion. You’ll want to see this song live and as loud as possible.
-       SXSW 2012

Black Whales : Rattle Your Bones : Shangri-La Indeed (2011)
-          Debut full length. This song was also released as a single in 2010.
-          Their latest single is available for free download on their BandCamp.
-          One full length as well.
-          Heavy, dark sound reminiscent of the Black Angels.

Blonds : Run : The Bad Ones (2012)
-          Debut full length. 1 EP out as well.
-          Moody, pulsing rock with powerful, steady, Nico-like vocals.

Hacienda : Don’t Keep Me Waiting : Shakedown (2012)
-          3rd album.
-          All 3 produced by the Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach.
-          This track definitely mirrors the sound and production quality of the last 2 Black Keys’ albums.

The Tallest Man On Earth : Wind and Walls : There's No Leaving Now (2012)
-          3rd album.
-          Swedish singer/songwriter Kristian Matsson
-          Powerful voice.
-          2008 self-titled debut was very well received.

Two Gallants : Broken Eyes : The Bloom and the Blight (2012)
-          4th album. Out in September.
-          Debut release was, What the Toll Tells, and was out in 2006.
-          First was called ‘The Throes’
-          formed by Adam Stephens (vocals/guitar/harmonica) and Tyson Vogel (drums/vocals) in 2002 in san Francisco
-          named after a James Joyce short story
-          SXSW 2012

Sun Kil Moon : Not Much Rhymes With Everything's Awesome At All Times : Among the Leaves (2012)
-          5th full length
-          Mark Kozelek's main band.
-          First album was comprised of all AC/DC reworkings. 2nd was all Modest Mouse. Both are great.

These United States : Never Stop Falling : These United States (2012)
-          5th album
-          Their debut was one that I immediately latched onto, but it took a re-release to drive up the following this band deserves.
-          Jesse Elliot, lead singer, writes some fantastic lyrics to go along with the layered Americana progressions.
-          This is about the most poppy they've ever sounded.
-          SXSW 2012

Beachwood Sparks : Sparks Fly Again : The Tarnished Gold (2012)
-          3rd album. 1st release since 2002.
-          Alternative country/folk band.

Chimney Choir : Nothing Else : (ladder) (2012)
-          Debut full length. 2 EPs out as well.
-          Easy rolling folk pop.

Kris Orlowski : Way You Are : Warsaw (2011)
-          3rd EP. Also one LP out with one on its way this year.
-          Indie folk rock.

Wet Hair : Camoflage : Spill Into Atmosphere (2012)
-          2nd album.
-          Previously big 70's psych/80’s kraut rock, but here has a bit more 80’s pop than ever before.
-          SXSW 2012

No comments: